Literary Matters is an online literary journal that publishes original works of scholarship and criticism, poetry, fiction, literary translations, interviews, and memoirs. Recent issues have contained original works by U.S. Poets Laureate and by winners of the Nobel Prize, The Pulitzer Prize, The National Book Award, The National Book Critics Circle Award, The American Book Award, The Bollingen Prize, The Frost Medal, The Griffin Poetry Prize, The Harold Morton Landon Translation Prize, The International Latino Book Award, The Jackson Poetry Prize, The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, The Lambda Literary Award, The Lannan Literary Award, The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, The MacArthur ‘Genius’ Grant, The PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story, The Poets’ Prize, The Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, The Whiting Writers’ Award, and the Yale Younger Poets Prize, among many other honors. Previously the newsletter of the Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers (ALSCW), the new iteration of Literary Matters (beginning with issue 9.1) continues to publish news about ALSCW events and about recent books by ALSCW members, in addition to publishing original literary work.

Selected contributors to recent issues of Literary Matters include: Betty Adcock, Kim Addonizio, Derrick Austin, David Baker, Willis Barnstone, David Bottoms, Geoffrey Brock, David Bromwich, Fred Chappell, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Alfred Corn, Bonnie Costello, Morri Creech, Erica Dawson, Carl Dennis, Stephen Dunn, Mark Edmundson, Moira Egan, David Ferry, Amina Gautier, Amy Gerstler, Juliana Gray, Rachel Hadas, Edward Hirsch, Garrett Hongo, Andrew Hudgins, Walt Hunter, Didi Jackson, Mark Jarman, Rodney Jones, Maxine Hong Kingston, Yusef Komunyakaa, Ted Kooser, Katy Lederer, Brad Leithauser, Rika Lesser, Timothy Liu, Amit Majmudar, Maurice Manning, Charles Martin, David Mason, Gail Mazur, Shane McCrae, Joshua Mehigan, Orlando Ricardo Menes, Thylias Moss, Eric Pankey, Elise Partridge, Linda Pastan, Marjorie Perloff, Carl Phillips, Robert Pinsky, D.A. Powell, Christopher Ricks, Mary Jo Salter, Grace Schulman, Philip Schultz, Alexis Sears, Alan Shapiro, Charles Simic, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Ron Slate, Dave Smith, Lisa Russ Spaar, Willard Spiegelman, A.E. Stallings, Adrienne Su, Jean Valentine, Alissa Valles, Rosanna Warren, Bruce Weigl, Lesley Wheeler, Robert Wrigley, C. Dale Young, and David Yezzi.

Located at The Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C., Literary Matters is published by the Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers three times per year, in the Fall, Winter, and Spring. Currently, we are only accepting submissions from ALSCW members in good standing. For membership information, visit the ALSCW’s website (alscw.org).

The power of literature and literary study flows from a diverse mix of minds, backgrounds and experiences, and the ALSCW is committed to cultivating a diverse environment in its leadership, publications, and conferences. The ALSCW provides equal opportunities to all members without regard to race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetic disposition, neurodiversity, disability, veteran status, or any other protected category under federal, state and local law.

Ryan Wilson, Catholic University

Editorial Board:
Clare Cavanagh, Northwestern University
Greg Delanty, St. Michael’s College
Jee Leong Koh, The Brearley School
A. E. Stallings, Poetry Program Director of the Athens Centre
Ernest Suarez, Catholic University
Rosanna Warren, University of Chicago
David Yezzi, The Johns Hopkins University

Previous Editors:
Samantha Madway: Issues 4:2-8:1 (2011-2015)
Leslie Harkema: Issues 3:2-4:1 (2010-2011)
Michael Gouin Hart: Issues 1:1-3:1 (Spring 1995-Winter 1997)