The Meringoff Awards

/ /

The Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers announces four awards of $2000 each, in poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and high school student writing. Only one entry is accepted from each person. The entry must be unpublished and postmarked no later than December 1st 2012. The winners will be announced towards the end of December, 2012. There is no entry fee for current members of The Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers. For everyone else membership in the ALSCW is required, which is $32 for students and $37 for all others — all members will receive the annual three issues of our literary journal/magazine Literary Imagination, and our newsletter, as well as being able to attend our conferences and local gatherings—see ALSCW website ( for details about how to join the ALSCW.

For the Meringoff Poetry award, each entry can be one poem, or a group of poems
that add up to no more than 150 lines. Judges: David Curzon, Greg Delanty and
Elise Partridge.

For the Meringoff Fiction award, each entry should be one story, or a chapter of
a longer work of no more than 30 pages double spaced. Judges: Colum McCann
and Rosanna Warren.

For the Meringoff Nonfiction award, each entry should be one nonfiction piece, or
a chapter of a longer work of no more than 30 pages double spaced. Judges: John
Burt and Gale Holst-Warhaft.

For the Meringoff High School Essay Award, ssubmissions should be analytical
essays by students in grades 9 through 12 dealing with works of recognized
literary merit. Papers may address style, characterization, rhetorical technique,
structure, and so on, and may be about individual poems, short stories, novels,
plays, or essays. Papers may also compare a few carefully selected works.
Each student essay should be nominated by the teacher, principal or school and
whoever nominates must be a member of the ALSCW. All submissions should
run between approximately 1,500 and 2,500 words. Please note that we do not
seek “term” papers that attempt to assess a number of works under a single rubric.
Judges: John Leonard and Elise Partridge.

All entries will be judged anonymously and will be published in Literary Imagination
or our newsletter Literary Matters. With each entry please include one copy with your
name, email address, postal address and phone number and another copy without your
name and contact information.

All Submissions should be postmarked no later than December 1, 2012
And sent to: Stephen J. Meringoff Literary Awards
Association of Literary Scholars and Writers
650 Beacon St. Suite 510
Boston MA 02215, United States