Two Winners of 2016 Meringoff Prize for Poetry

/ /

The ALSCW is pleased to announce the co-winners of the 2016 Meringoff Prize for Poetry: Gregory Fraser for “Nothing But a Few Bare Trees” and Matthew Buckley Smith for “Object Permanence.” The winning poems will be published in an upcoming issue of either Literary Matters or Literary Imagination, and the winners will each receive $1,000 and a commemorative plaque.

The ALSCW would also like to thank all the fine writers who participated and especially the judges, Jee Leong Koh and Robert B. Shaw. The winners of the other Meringoff Prizes will be announced in the coming weeks.

Gregory Fraser is the author of three poetry collections: Strange Pietà (Texas Tech University Press, 2003), Answering the Ruins (2009), and Designed for Flight (2014), both from Northwestern University Press. He is also the co-author, with Chad Davidson, of the workshop textbook Writing Poetry (Palgrave-Macmillan, 2008) and the critical writing textbook Analyze Anything (Bloomsbury, 2012). His poetry has appeared in journals including The Paris Review, The Southern Review, and The Gettysburg Review. The recipient of grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation, Fraser serves as professor of English at the University of West Georgia.

Matthew Buckley Smith is the author of Dirge for an Imaginary World (Able Muse 2012). His poems have appeared in AGNI, Harvard Review, Subtropics, Threepenny Review, and Best American Poetry. He lives in North Carolina with his wife and daughter.