Winners of the 2018 ALSCW Meringoff Writing Awards

/ /

2018 ALSCW Meringoff Award for Poetry:

Bruce Bond, “Skull”; Deborah Warren, “Down-to-Earth”

Bruce Bond is the author of twenty-three books including, most recently, Immanent Distance: Poetry and the Metaphysics of the Near at Hand (U of MI, 2015), Black Anthem (Tampa Review Prize, U of Tampa, 2016), Gold Bee (Helen C. Smith Award, Crab Orchard Award, SIU Press, 2016), Sacrum (Four Way, 2017), Blackout Starlight: New and Selected Poems 1997-2015 (L.E. Phillabaum Award, LSU, 2017), Rise and Fall of the Lesser Sun Gods (Elixir Book Prize, Elixir Press, 2018), Dear Reader (Free Verse Editions, 2018), and Frankenstein’s Children (Lost Horse, 2018).

Five books are forthcoming including Plurality and the Poetics of Self (Palgrave).  Presently he is a Regents Professor of English at the University of North Texas.

Deborah Warren is the author of The Size of Happiness (2003, Waywiser Press), Zero Meridian, winner of the New Criterion Poetry Prize (2004, Ivan R. Dee), Dream With Flowers and Bowl of Fruit, winner of the Richard Wilbur Award (2008, Evansville), and a translation of Ausonius: The Moselle and Other Poems (2017, Routledge).

Her work has won the Robert Penn Warren Prize, the Howard Nemerov Award, and the Robert Frost Award, and her poems have appeared in The New YorkerThe Paris ReviewPoetry, and The Yale Review.


2018 ALSCW Meringoff Award for Fiction: 

Miriam Grossman, “Hush”

Miriam Grossman is an MFA candidate in fiction at the University of Virginia. She is currently at work on a collection of linked stories about a Jewish American family that deals with memory, physical frailty, and intergenerational change. She lives in Charlottesville.


2018 ALSCW Meringoff Award for Non-Fiction: 

Caitlin Doyle, “The World’s Weight: Artifice and Reality in Richard Wilbur’s Poetry”

Caitlin Doyle holds an Elliston Fellowship in Poetry at the University of Cincinnati, where she serves as an Associate Editor of The Cincinnati Review and teaches in the Department of English and Comparative Literature. Her poems, essays, and reviews have appeared in The AtlanticThe GuardianThe Yale ReviewThe Threepenny ReviewBoston ReviewBest New Poets (University of Virginia Press), and elsewhere. Her work has also been featured through the PBS NewsHour Poetry Series, Poetry Daily, American Life in Poetry, and the Poetry Foundation’s “Poem of the Day” series.

She has received awards and fellowships through the Yaddo Colony, the MacDowell Colony, the James Merrill House, the Frost Farm, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, the Amy Award series through Poets & Writers, and the Association of Writers and Writing Programs, among others. Most recently, she received the Presidential Endowed Scholar Award through the P.E.O. Foundation, a Taft Research Fellowship, and a Pushcart Prize Special Mention.

Caitlin has taught as the Writer-in-Residence at St. Albans School, the Emerging Writer-in-Residence at Penn State Altoona, and the Writer-in-Residence at Interlochen Arts Academy. She will join the faculty of the Frost Farm Poetry Conference this summer. She earned her MFA as the George Starbuck Fellow in Poetry from Boston University. At present, she is working toward the completion of her debut poetry collection.